Board of Directors

The Board of Directors exercises the oversight and management of the Association's risk management needs and strategic direction.  The Board desires to create a governance structure that is comprised of directors with a diverse mix of skills, experience, expertise, and perspectives.  It seeks to ensure that fresh perspectives are provided and that experience, continuity, and stability exist on the Board.  The Board of Directors has outlined general board responsibilities for the board overall and individual board member responsibilities that include personal giving expectations and time and energy commitments. 

Annually, the Pennsylvania Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers seeks nominations to the Board of Directors. Applicants interested in serving should submit a letter of interest that details their service to the Association, their leadership experience and their qualifications to between October 31 and December 31.  Each year, the Board Governance Committee reviews those nominations and prepares a slate of officers that is considered by the members at their Annual Membership Meeting in April. Board members elected at the Annual Membership Meeting serve for a three-year term.

2018 Elected Officers.  PACDL members elected the individiuals below to office at the Annual Meeting held in Harrisburg on April 27, 2018. 
Board President:                           Bradley A. Winnick, Chief of Dauphin County Public Defender’s Office, Harrisburg
President-Elect:                            Peter E. Kratsa of MacElree & Harvey, Ltd., West Chester
Vice President, Western District:  Thomas J. Farrell of Farrell & Reisinger, Pittsburgh
Vice President, Middle District:     Patrick A. Casey, Myers, Brier & Kelly LLP, Scranton
Vice President, Eastern District:   Brian J. McMonagle, of McMonagle, Perri, McHugh & Mischak of Philadelphia
Treasurer:                                     Wana Saadzoi of The Law Offices of Wana Saadzoi, Media
Secretary:                                     Jason S. Dunkle of JD Law, State College